Russell Mawby

Honorary Fellow

BS PhD Michigan, MS Purdue

Dr Mawby is Chairman Emeritus of the W K Kellogg Foundation of Battle Creek, Michigan.

He grew up on a farm in western Michigan and took degrees in horticulture and agricultural economics from Michigan State and Purdue Universities.  He then served on the faculties of both institutions, his longest period of service being at Michigan State from 1952 to 1964.  There he began as an instructor, later becoming a professor and assistant director of the Cooperative Extension Service responsible for 4-H Clubs and youth programming.

In December 1964, he joined the staff of the W K Kellogg Foundation as Director of the Division of Agriculture.  Dr Mawby became Vice President in 1967 and was named Chief Executive Officer in 1970, retiring as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer in 1995.  He continued to serve as a trustee of the Foundation until December 2000 and as an honorary trustee from 2001 through 2003.

Dr Mawby is a member of the Michigan Community Service Commission, a member of the board of Trustees of Starr Commonwealth, Albion, Michigan; Michigan, a Non-profit Association, East Lansing; the United Christian Colleges Fund, Washington, DC; the Council of Michigan Foundations, Grand Haven, serving as Chair of the Council’s Advisory Cabinet and the Steering Committee for CMF’s Learning to Give project.  He previously served on the Board of Directors of the Kellogg Company and the J M Smucker Company, and on the board of trustees and as Chairman of the Council on Foundations in Washington, DC; the Foundation Center in New York City; and Michigan State University in East Lansing.  He is an emeritus member of the Board of Governors of the Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University.

Dr Mawby has published widely in the fields of adult learning, university extension, and philanthropy.  He holds honorary degrees from a large number of universities in Europe and the United States.  His other honours include the awards of Knight First Class of the Royal Order of St Olaf (Norway), Knight’s Cross of the Order of Dannebrog First Class (Denmark), the US National Governors’ Award for Distinguished Service, and the Owner of the Year Award (1998) of the Michigan Harness Horsemen’s Association.  Dr Mawby has been a member of the Chancellor’s Court of Benefactors since 1991.