Skip Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Our People

Sir David Brown

Bletchley Park Fellow, Bynum Tudor Fellow

Chair of the Bletchley Park Trust

Sir David Brown, BSc (Portsmouth), CEng, FREng, Hon FIET, Hon FCQI, CCMI, graduated in electrical engineering before pursuing a career in telecommunications and electronics which culminated in becoming Chair of Motorola Ltd, one of the biggest electronics companies in the UK, from 1997 to 2008. Today he is Chair of the Bletchley Park Trust. His previous non-executive directorships have included the British Standards Institution, P&O, Ceres Power Holdings plc, Domino Printing Sciences plc, DRS Data & Research Services plc, Simoco Wireless Solutions Ltd, the Manufacturing Technology Centre Ltd and the University for Industry.

Sir David is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering; a Chartered Engineer and Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology; a Companion of the Chartered Management Institute; and an Honorary Fellow of the Chartered Quality Institute. He was President of the Institution of Electrical Engineers, President of the Chartered Quality Institute and President of the Federation of the Electronics Industry.

His interests include the promotion of links between engineering and education. He was twice an IEE Faraday Lecturer and was President of the Association for Science Education, the professional body for Britain’s science teachers. He became a Bynum Tudor Fellow of Kellogg College, University of Oxford in 2007.

He was Chair of the University for Industry Design and Implementation Advisory Group. He served for six years as a member of the UK Industrial Development Advisory Board, and was Vice-Chair of the Board of UK Trade and Investment. He was Chair of the Advisory Board for the National Health Service Institute for Learning, Skills and Innovation, and was Chair of the Ofcom Spectrum Advisory Board. Sir David was also made Chair of the Bletchley Park Trust in 2019.

He has Honorary Doctorates from the Universities of Bath, Kingston, Portsmouth and Surrey and was awarded the 2005 Mountbatten Medal for his leadership contributions to electronics.

He was Knighted in 2001 for services to British Industry.